About Us

Our collective mission is to help make Ireland a safer and fairer place in which to live and work, visit and do business. The remit of the Justice family of agencies and services stretches across a range of human concerns and touches on aspects of national life as diverse as the protection of life and property; the prevention and detection of crime; the provision of services for the buying and selling of property; the management of inward migration to the State and providing a Courts Service and other forms of investigative tribunals. On the international front, the Minister and the Department serve the interests of Ireland in relation to Justice and Home Affairs’ matters by participating fully in the European Union, the Council of Europe and the United Nations among other international fora.

The Department of Justice and Equality is structured around clusters of Divisions, each headed up by a member of the Management Advisory Committee (MAC), responsible for administration and policy in relation to:

  • An Garda Síochána
  • Immigration Related Services
  • Civil Law Reform
  • Courts Policy
  • Crime, Security and Northern Ireland, and Criminal Law Reform
  • Equality
  • EU/International Matters
  • Human Resources, Corporate Services, Organisation Development, Finance, Internal Audit and IT
  • Migrant Integration
  • Mutual Assistance and Extradition
  • Prisons and Probation Policy
  • Reception and Integration Agency (RIA)

The heads of the following agencies/executive offices of the Department are also members of the Management Advisory Committee:

  • Anti-Trafficking Unit
  • Cosc – the National Office for the Prevention of Domestic, Sexual and Gender-based Violence
  • Irish Prison Service
  • Irish Youth Justice Service

There are currently approximately 23,500 staff within the overall remit of the Department (including An Garda Síochána and the Irish Prison Service)
For further information about the Department and its associated bodies, please see our organisation Chart (PDF - 47KB). This chart is defined according to the Department’s 6 strategic priorities/high-level goals.

In this section, find out about: