Following up on his recent announcement of a Review of Data Protection legislation following recent data breaches in Ireland and elsewhere, the Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform, Mr. Dermot Ahern T.D. has now agreed terms of reference and membership for the Review Group. The Terms of Reference cover legal, technical and regulatory aspects of the issue and the Group has been asked to make any interim recommendations, if appropriate.  The Group held its first meeting this week and is making arrangements for a widespread consultation exercise, details of which will be announced shortly.

The Membership of the Group is:

Chairman:  Mr. Eddie Sullivan (former Secretary General Department of Finance), Mr. Billy Hawkes, Data Protection Commissioner, Professor Robert Clark (School of Law, UCD),
Ms. Isolde Goggin (former Chair of Comreg and expert on Regulatory Impact Assessment),  Mr. Alec Dolan & Ms. Noreen Walsh (Department of Justice, Equality and Law Reform,
Mr. Dave Ring (CMOD, Department of Finance),  Mr. Tony McGrath (Department of Enterprise, Trade and Employment),  Mr. Paul Carroll (Department of  Social and Family Affairs) and Mr. Roger O'Connor (Department of Communications, Marine and Natural Resources).

Minister Ahern said "I expect that the Group will consult widely as part of their deliberations and I look forward to their report. I trust that the innovative linking of the public consultation process with a Regulatory Impact Assessment will lead to a well-structured analysis of a complex area and ultimately to a robust outcome".

28 November 2008