17 December 2014

The Minister for Justice and Equality, Ms Frances Fitzgerald TD, has today welcomed the appointment by the Government of three new members to the Irish Legal Terms Advisory Committee, including a new Chairman. The Government also approved the re-appointment of four former members of the Committee to serve for another five year term.

The new appointments are:

a new Chairman of the Committee, the Hon. Mr Justice Frank Clarke of the Supreme Court,
Professor Máirtín Ó Murchú, former Director of the School of Celtic Studies in the Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies and former Professor of Irish at Trinity College, Dublin, and
Ms Bríd de Staic, Assistant Chief-Translator, Rannóg an Aistriúcháin (Translation Section of the Houses of the Oireachtas).

The following members were re-appointed by the Government:

His Honour Judge Rory MacCabe of the Circuit Court,
Ms Fidelma Ní Ghallchobhair, former Secretary and current member of An Coiste Téarmaíochta, and author of Ár dTéarmaí Féin (2014),
Mr Caoimhín Ó hUiginn, former Assistant Secretary, Department of Justice and Equality, and
Dr Micheál Ó Cearúil, Translator, Department of Justice and Equality.

Welcoming the new appointments, the Minister stated that: “I would like to especially thank the Honourable Mr Justice Frank Clarke who has been appointed as the new chairman of the Committee. I wish him and all the Committee members the best in carrying out this important technical work.”

The Minister continued: “The Department of Justice and Equality published the Irish translation of the District Court Rules 1997 in 2004 and the translation of Circuit Court Rules 2001 in 2010, and we will shortly publish the translation of the Rules of the Superior Courts 1986. The Government has made the appointments at this time in order to facilitate the verification of the translation of the Forms contained in the Rules of the Superior Courts 1986, prior to the publication of those Rules by my Department.”

Minister Fitzgerald also noted that recent appointments were made to the Committee by the Incorporated Law Society of Ireland and the Bar Council of Ireland. Ms Máiréad Ní Ghabháin was nominated for membership of the Committee in recent weeks by the Incorporated Law Society of Ireland and Ms Clíona Kimber BL was nominated for membership some months earlier by the Bar Council of Ireland.



Notes for Editors

The Irish Legal Terms Advisory Committee was established under the Irish Legal Terms Act 1945. That Act authorises ‘the provision, for the purposes of law, of standard equivalents in the Irish language for certain terms’ and provides for ‘the publication of legal forms and precedents in the Irish language’.

The Act, as amended by the Court of Appeal Act 2014, also provides for the appointment of a Judge of the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal or the High-Court, a Judge of the Circuit Court and a Judge of the District Court, a barrister, a solicitor, a member of the Translation Section of the Houses of the Oireachtas and such other members as the Government decides to constitute the Irish Legal Terms Advisory Committee.

Given their particular fields of competence, members bring both legal and Irish language expertise to the Committee.

The full complement of the Committee is now:


The Hon. Mr Justice Frank Clarke, of the Supreme Court – Chairman
His Honour Judge Rory MacCabe, of the Circuit Court
Judge Victor Blake, of the District Court
Professor Máirtín Ó Murchú
Dr Micheál Ó Cearúil, a joint-secretary
Ms Bríd de Staic, a joint-secretary
Ms Clíona Kimber BL, barrister
Ms Máiréad Ní Ghabháin, solicitor
former District Court Judge Uinsin MacGruairc
Mr Caoimhín Ó hUiginn

Ms Fidelma Ní Ghallchobhair
Ms Áine Ní Chonghaile, Director of Europus Teo., a language consultancy company based in An Cheathrú Rua, Co. Galway


Members are paid no fees for their participation in the Committee.