Appointments to the Court of Appeal

The Government has moved to increase the number of judges on the Court of Appeal from 9 to 15. 

Seven nominations were agreed at Cabinet this week, six of whom will be appointed by the President shortly.

The nominees agreed at the Cabinet meeting on 8th October for appointment by the President to the Court of Appeal are: Ms Justice Mary Faherty, Ms Justice Una Ní Raifeartaigh, Mr Justice Seamus Noonan, Mr Justice Robert Haughton, Mr Brian Murray SC and Ms Justice Ann Power.


The Government also agreed to nominate Mr Maurice Collins, SC for appointment to the Court of Appeal when a vacancy arises later this month on the retirement of  Mr Justice Michael Peart.

Part of the Government’s commitment to providing greater and more efficient access to justice, the nominations were made under the Courts Act 2019.

In accordance with articles 13.9 and 35.1 of the Constitution, judicial appointments are made by the President acting on the advice of the Government.

The Government has taken the necessary steps to formally advise President Higgins of the nominations in accordance with constitutional procedure.


Note for Editors

Limited biographical details:

Ms. Justice Mary Faherty

Ms. Justice Una Ní Raifeartaigh

Mr. Justice Seamus Noonan

Mr. Justice Robert Haughton

Mr. Brian Murray, SC


Mr. Maurice Collins, SC

Ms. Justice Ann Power