The operations of the Citizenships Section of the Irish Naturalisation and Immigration Service (INIS) have today commenced in the decentralised location of Tipperary Town.

The decentralisation of the Citizenship Section to temporary offices in Tipperary Town has resulted in the initial relocation of 60 posts. Staff numbers will rise to 90 before the end of 2008 and the full complement of 186 staff will relocate when a new permanent office block has been developed.

Huge progress has been made in implementing the Department of Justice, Equality and Law Reform’s decentralisation programme under which just over 900 posts are scheduled to relocate from Dublin to provincial locations by 2010.  To date over 500 posts from 12 agencies (including INIS) have decentralised to 7 different locations around the country. They are:

· The Citizenship Section of the Irish Naturalisation and Immigration Service and The Private Security Authority have commenced   operations in Tipperary Town;
· The Headquarters of the Irish Prison Service has relocated to Longford Town;
· The Garda Central Vetting Unit and the Fixed Charge Penalty Office are now operational in Thurles;
· The Data Protection Commissioners Office has moved to Portarlington;
· Sections of the Property Registration Authority have moved to  Roscommon town;
· Navan now hosts staff from the Garda Civilian Human Resources Unit, the National Property Services Regulatory Authority, the Probation Service and the Coroners Unit; and
· The Equality Authority now has an Office in Roscrea.

28 April 2008