339. Deputy Denis Naughten asked the Minister for Justice further to Parliamentary Question No. 1390 of 27 July 2021, if she will provide the corresponding figures for the Roscommon/Longford division and the Galway division respectively; the numbers in each station appointed to specialist units; and if she will make a statement on the matter. [55285/21]


Minister for Justice (Deputy Helen McEntee): As the Deputy will appreciate, under the Garda Síochána Act 2005 (as amended), the Garda Commissioner is responsible for the management and administration of An Garda Síochána, which includes the deployment and stationing of Garda members throughout the State. As Minister, I have no role in this independent function.
I am advised by the Garda authorities that 161 Garda members in Galway Division and 37 Garda members in Roscommon/Longford Division are assigned to specialist units.  The attached tables outline the number of Garda members assigned to each specialist unit in each Division as requested by the Deputy.
A further spreadsheet is also attached, which sets out the number of Gardaí assigned to each District in the Roscommon/Longford and Galway Divisions as at 31 October 2021, the latest date for when figures are available.
Information in relation to the number of Garda members assigned to each Garda Division,  can be found on my Department's website at the following link:  
Details in relation to the number of Garda civilian staff assigned to each Garda Division are also available on my Department's website at the following link:>Specialist Units Galway Division