137. Deputy Denis Naughten asked the Minister for Justice further to Parliamentary Question No. 339 of 11 November 2021, if she will provide figures for the number of gardaí in specialist units in the Roscommon-Longford division and the Galway division, respectively; and if she will make a statement on the matter. [57555/21]


Minister of State at the Department of Justice (Deputy James Browne): As outlined in a previous response to the Deputy in Parliamentary Question No. 339 of 11 November 2021, under the Garda Síochána Act 2005 (as amended), the Garda Commissioner is responsible for the management and administration of An Garda Síochána, which includes the deployment of Garda members throughout the State. As Minister, I have no role in this independent function.
The Garda authorities advise that 161 Garda members in Galway Division and 37 Garda members in Roscommon/Longford Division are assigned to specialist units. The attached tables outline the number of Garda members assigned to each specialist unit in each Division as requested by the Deputy.
An Garda Síochána continue to develop and implement strategies to dismantle and disrupt criminal networks, utilising advanced analytical and intelligence methods. Gardaí target serious criminals and organised criminal groups through the use of focused intelligence-led operations by specialist units. Gardaí in these divisions continue to be supported by national units, such as the Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau (GNDOCB), the Garda National Economic Crime Bureau (GNECB), the Criminal Assets Bureau (CAB), the Special Detective Unit (SDU), the Armed Response Unit, the Emergency Response Unit (ERU), the Air Support Unit (ASU), as-well as the Roads Policing Units.
Specialist Units Roscommon/Longford

Garda Members
Unit Castlerea Roscommon Granard Longford Total
Drugs 0 0 0 6 6
Community Policing 5 1 3 5 14
SOC 0 3 0 2 5
DPSU 0 7 0 0 7
Immigration 0 5 0 0 5

Specialist Units Galway Division
Unit Total
Community Police 22
Juvenile Liaison Officers 4
Divisional Crime 3
Galway Crime 13
Salthill / Clifden Crime 8
Loughrea /Gort Crime 6
Ballinasloe / Tuam Crime 11
Divisional Drugs 8
Divisional Protective Services Unit 19
Divisional TUSLA Office 1
Crime Prevention Unit 1
Garda Victim Services Office 1
Divisional Incident Room 4
Scenes of Crime Unit 5
Immigration 6
Roads Policing 37
Court Presenters 6
Performance Assurance 6
Total 161

/ie/oireachtas/debates/questions/supportingDocumentation/2021-11-25_pq137-25-11-21_en.xlsx">Galway, Roscommon and Longford Division Oct 2021