321. Deputy Eamon Scanlon asked the Minister for Justice and Equality the number of Garda stations that have been closed in each of the years 2012 to 2017 and to date in 2018, by location; the number of Garda stations open in counties Sligo, Leitrim, Donegal and Roscommon; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [9495/18]


Minister for Justice and Equality (Deputy Charles Flanagan): The Deputy will be aware that, during 2011 and 2012, An Garda Síochána completed a comprehensive review of its district and station network. The objective of this review was to identify opportunities to introduce strategic reforms to enhance service delivery, increase efficiency and streamline practices within the organisation.
The review concluded that a revised district and station network commensurate with the organisation’s resource base would best meet public demand.
In the case of certain stations, many of which were only open part-time and manned by a single Garda, the review determined that resources could be better deployed and more effectively used on the front line if those stations no longer had to be staffed and maintained.
In reaching these conclusions, Garda management reviewed all aspects of the Garda Síochána policing model, including the deployment of personnel, the utilisation of modern technologies and the overall operation of Garda stations.
As a result, the Garda District and Station Rationalisation Programme was implemented in 2012 and 2013.
This was reflected in An Garda Síochána’s Policing Plans for 2012 and 2013 which set out the details of the closure of 39 Garda stations in 2012 and 100 Garda stations in 2013 and the amalgamation of twenty eight Garda districts to fourteen enlarged Garda districts.
I have been informed by the Garda authorities that the closures allowed front line Garda to be managed and deployed with greater mobility, greater flexibility and in a more focused fashion particularly with regard to various targeted police operations. As a result of the Programme, communities have benefited from increased Garda visibility and increased patrolling hours which has enabled An Garda Síochána to deliver an improved policing service to the public.
The stations closed under the 2012 and 2013 Policing Plans are set out below:

No. Garda Station County No. Garda Station County
1 Abbeydorney Kerry 71 Glenville Cork
2 Aclare Sligo 72 Goleen Cork
3 Adrigole Cork 73 Grangemockler Tipperary
4 An Clochán Kerry 74 Harcourt Terrace Dublin
5 Annagaire Donegal 75 Hollymount Mayo
6 Ardagh Longford 76 Hollywood Wicklow
7 Baldwinstown Wexford 77 Inagh Clare
8 Ballacolla Laois 78 Inchigeela Cork
9 Ballinahowan Westmeath 79 Inistioge Kilkenny
10 Ballinakill Laois 80 Johnstown Kilkenny
11 Ballinalee Longford 81 Keshcarrigan Leitrim
12 Ballinderry Tipperary 82 Kilchreest Galway
13 Ballinskelligs Kerry 83 Kilcolgan Galway
14 Ballinspittle Cork 84 Kilconly Galway
15 Ballintubber Roscommon 85 Kilfinnane Limerick
16 Ballinure Tipperary 86 Kilgarvan Kerry
17 Ballycastle Mayo 87 Kill Kildare
18 Ballyduff Waterford 88 Kill O The Grange Dublin
19 Ballyfarnon Roscommon 89 Kilmeedy Limerick
20 Ballyfeard Cork 90 Kilmessan Meath
21 Ballyforan Roscommon 91 *Lisseycasey Clare
22 Ballyglass Mayo 92 Kiltealy Wexford
23 Ballygurteen Cork 93 Kiltullagh Galway
24 Ballylongford Kerry 94 Kiltyclogher Leitrim
25 Ballymoe Galway 95 Knockcroghery Roscommon
26 Ballymore Eustace Kildare 96 Knocknagree Cork
27 Ballyragget Kilkenny 97 Labasheeda Clare
28 Ballytore Kildare 98 Lahardane Mayo
29 Ballyvary Mayo 99 Lahinch Clare
30 Ballywilliam Wexford 100 Lauragh Kerry
31 Barrack Street Cork 101 Leenane Galway
32 Bawnboy Cavan 102 Leighlinbridge Carlow
33 Beaufort Kerry 103 Loughlynn Roscommon
34 Bellacorick Mayo 104 Malin Donegal
35 Blacksod Mayo 105 Mallow Road Cork
36 Broadford Clare 106 Mary Street Limerick
37 Brosna Kerry 107 McCurtain St Cork
38 Bunnanadden Sligo 108 Meelin Cork
39 Camp Kerry 109 Menlough Galway
40 Carrigaholt Clare 110 Mountshannon Clare
41 Castletown Conyers Limerick 111 Moyvane Kerry
42 Castletown Geoghegan Westmeath 112 Mulranny Mayo
43 Castletownsend Cork 113 Na Brocacha / Cloghan Donegal
44 Church Hill (Min an Lábain) Donegal 115 New Inn Galway
45 Cliffoney Sligo 114 New Inn Tipperary
46 Clontibret Monaghan 116 Newbliss Monaghan
47 Cloone Leitrim 117 Newtowncashel Longford
48 Cootehall Roscommon 118 Quin Clare
49 Corrandulla Galway 119 Rathduff Cork
50 Corrinshigagh Monaghan 120 Rathowen Westmeath
51 Crossakiel Meath 121 Rearcross Tipperary
52 Culdaff Donegal 122 Redhills Cavan
53 Dalkey Dublin 123 Rush Dublin
54 Donard Wicklow 124 Shanaglish Galway
55 Doochary Donegal 125 Shanagolden Limerick
56 Doon Limerick 126 Shannonbridge Offaly
57 Doonbeg Clare 127 Shantonagh Monaghan
58 Dromahair Leitrim 128 Smithborough Monaghan
59 Dromod Leitrim 129 Stepaside Dublin
60 Drumkeeran Leitrim 130 Stradbally Waterford
61 Dundrum Tipperary 131 Stradone Cavan
62 Dunkineely Donegal 132 Tarmonbarry Roscommon
63 Easkey Sligo 133 Terryglass Tipperary
64 Fenit Kerry 134 Tourmakeady Mayo
65 Finea Cavan 135 Tournafolla Limerick
66 Galbally Limerick 136 Tullyvin Cavan
67 Geashill Offaly 137 Tynagh Galway
68 Gleann Cholm Cille Donegal 138 Valentia Island Kerry
69 Glenfarne Leitrim 139 Whitehall Dublin
70 Glenisland Mayo
*With regard to Lisseycasey Garda station (No. 91), it should be noted that while Kilmihil Garda station closed in 2013 it was subsequently reopened in 2015 and Lisseycasey closed in its place.

The tables below contain details of Garda stations that are currently open in counties Sligo, Leitrim, Donegal and Roscommon:
Sligo – 11 Garda Stations
Sligo Ballymote
Colloney Enniscrone
Coolaney Gurteen
Grange Riverstown
Rosses Point Tubbercurry
Skreen -

Leitrim - 7 Garda Stations
Carrick on Shannon Kinlough
Ballinamore Manorhamilton
Carrigallen Mohill
Drumshambo -

Donegal - 37 Garda Stations
Letterkenny Buncrana Ballyshannon Milford
Ballybofey Burnfoot Ardara Bunbeg
Carrigans Carndonagh Ballintra Burtonport
Castlefin Clonmany Bundoran Carrigart
Convoy Moville Carrick Creeslough
Lifford Muff Clogher Dunfanaghy
Newtowncunningham Donegal Dungloe (An Clochan Liath)
Raphoe Glenties Falcarragh
- Killybegs Kerrykeel
- Mountcharles Kilmacrennan
- Pettigo Ramelton
- Rathmullen

Roscommon - 14 Garda Stations
Roscommon Castlerea
Athleague Ballaghaderreen
Clonark Ballinlough
Taughmaconnell Boyle
- Elphin
- Frenchpark
- Keadue
- Rooskey
- Strokestown
- Tulsk