We inform the general public of winter and summer time changes through the media.

Winter time begins at 1:00 a.m. Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) on the last Sunday in October every year. Clocks are put back by one hour.

Winter time ends at 1:00 a.m. GMT on the last Sunday in March of the following year. Clocks are put forward one hour, signalling the start of summer time.



These arrangements are set out in the Winter Time Order 2001.  The order gives effect to European Union Directive 2000/84/EC of 19 January, 2001. As a result, all EU member states start summer time simultaneously.


A public consultation on seasonal clock changes commenced on 26th October 2018.  Further information on the consultation is available at the following link:  Consultation on Seasonal Clock Changes